The Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission is a public agency that was created under the Petroleum Marketing Act in 1974. It operates as the Crown’s agent in marketing its royalty share of resource production, and supports the development of value-added activities in Alberta’s petroleum sector. 

APMC fulfills a public interest mandate on behalf of Alberta, and is accountable to and receives policy direction from the Minister of Energy. APMC’s Mandate and Roles were developed collaboratively with the Minister of Energy.

APMC works to evolve and maximize the long-term sustainable value of Alberta’s petroleum resources and identify new opportunities for Alberta

Board of Directors

APMC’s business affairs are supervised by an independent Board of Directors acting in the best interests of APMC and Alberta.

Chair & Director - Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission

Prior to his return as Deputy Minister of Energy, Grant served as associate counsel at Miller Thomson LLP where he provided advice on natural resource and environmental law, administrative law matters, and regulatory processes involving government. Previously, he served as Deputy Minister of Energy from July 2013 to May 2016 and Chair of the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission. Grant also served as Chief of the Policy Coordination Office of Executive Council and as Assistant Deputy Minister of Alberta Justice.

Grant was appointed Queen’s Counsel for Alberta in December of 2010 and is a Senior Fellow with the C.D. Howe Institute and a sessional lecturer at the University of Alberta School of Business.

Chair of the Audit Committee

Stephanie is a corporate director, independent consultant, and former senior executive with over 25 years of experience and a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, is a Professional Engineer in Alberta and has a Master of Business Administration with the University of Alberta. Currently serving on the board of Cardinal Energy and the board of Cabin Ridge, a private coal venture, Stephanie also serves as an independent corporate ombudsman for Shell Canada

Ms. Roxanne LeBlanc was recently hired as the new Assistant Deputy Minister of Finance.

Ms. LeBlanc is a highly experienced Senior Financial Management Professional and Chartered Professional Accountant with a proven record of success in directing financial services, business, and operations planning processes. She recently served at the Edmonton International Airport Authority as the Vice President of Corporate Services and previously as the Director of Finance.

Ms. LeBlanc has substantial experience dealing with complex, multi-party, and multi-jurisdictional challenges.

Diane Pettie is a retired lawyer (KC) and certified Corporate Director (ICD.D). She brings over 35 years of legal practice and executive and corporate governance experience to board discussions. She is currently a director of ATB Financial, Chair of their Governance and Conduct Committee, and a member of their Risk Committee.

Diane served as Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of TSX-listed Canexus Corporation, a chemical manufacturing company; Assistant Vice President at Sempra Energy Trading; Associate General Counsel at Mirant Corporation (and Director of Mirant Canada Energy Marketing Ltd.); General Counsel and Corporate Secretary at Pan-Alberta Gas Ltd.; and Manager, Legal Services at TransCanada.Prior to her in-house career, Diane practiced law at the firm now known as Borden Ladner Gervais LLP.

Diane has her JD from the University of Alberta, is a Fellow of the Chartered Governance Institute of Canada and has the ESG Certificate from Global Competent Boards.

Corrina Bryson is a Corporate Director and Independent Consultant with 25 years’ experience in the energy industry. She established her own company, Simplify Complexity Inc. and delivers engineering and management consulting to operators and investors.

Corrina currently serves on the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, the Alberta Public Notaries Review Committee, and as Chair of the Town of Canmore Environmental Advisory Review Committee. She is a 2017 Diversity 50 Candidate with the Canadian Board Diversity Council and is currently undertaking the ICD Director’s Education Program (DEP).

Corrina graduated from the University of Bradford, England with M.Eng and B.Eng degrees in Chemical Engineering with Management. She is a P.Eng in Alberta and holds a Masters Certificate of Project Management (MCPM) from the University of Lethbridge. Corrina is also a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD).

Dave Mowat was the President and CEO of ATB Financial. He was named Canada’s #1 CEO in 2016 by Glassdoor. He also made the list of Alberta’s Top 50 Most Influential People by Alberta Venture Magazine (2016), was named the Inspired Leader of the Year by the International Association of Business Communicators (2015) and was honoured as Business Person of the Year in 2014 by Alberta Venture.

Mr. Mowat was conferred with an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Alberta.?He also headed Alberta’s Royalty Review panel which adopted an innovative approach to Alberta’s oil and natural gas royalty structure. Mr. Mowat used his banking expertise across venture capital markets, credit, retail, corporate, and investments to enrich the service he provided to numerous boards, including Telus, STARS, Alberta Blue Cross, the Citadel Theatre in Edmonton, and the National Music Centre in Calgary.

Terrance Kutryk was Alliance Pipelines’ President and CEO. Prior, he served as a Senior Vice President, Midstream and Refined Products with Husky Oil Operations where he was responsible for Husky's global commodity marketing, logistics and trading, storage, refining and upgrading business, pipelines, cogeneration, retail and wholesale operations, asphalt marketing, product supply and distribution, and new ventures.

Terrance has also held the position of Chairman of the Board for Sultran Ltd. and Pacific Coast Terminals Company Ltd. He is past Chair of the Board of Directors for the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association (CEPA) and currently serves on the Audit Committee.

Terrance holds Master of Business Administration and Bachelor of Commerce degrees from the University of Calgary, and a certificate in Petroleum Land Management (CPLM) from Mount Royal University. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst and holds designations from the Investment Dealers Association of Canada.

Code of Ethics and Related Policies

The APMC’s Code of Conduct outlines rules and direction regarding conflict of interest situations and reporting. Directors and employees complete and annual review and declaration of APMC’s Code of Conduct policy.

The APMC’s Whistleblower policy adheres to the Public Interest Disclosure Act and outlines the application, process and protection of individuals who disclose wrongdoings.